Skip to content

English Department Faculty Directory

   

Scott BlackScott Black

Professor / Director, Tanner Humanities Center
110D CTIHB
scott.black@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • History of the Novel and Prose Fiction
  • Eighteenth-Century British Literature
  • Global/Transnational Literature
  • Fantasy

Elizabeth CallawayElizabeth Callaway

Assistant Professor
3419 LNCO
elizabeth.callaway@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Environmental Humanities
  • Digital Humanities and Media Studies
  • Science and Literature

Justin CarpenterJustin Carpenter

Assistant Professor
3420 LNCO
justin.carpenter@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:

  • Video Game Aesthetics
  • Literary Criticism and Theory
  • Indigenous Storytelling and Narrative

Vincent ChengVincent Cheng

Shirley Sutton Thomas Professor of English / Distiguished Professor
3525 LNCO
vincent.cheng@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth-Century Literature
  • Postcolonial Studies
  • James Joyce
  • Irish Studies

Katharine Coles

Distinguished Professor
3417 LNCO
katharine.coles@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Creative Writing
  • Poetry and Poetics
  • Science & Literature

Stuart CulverStuart Culver

Associate Professor
2100a LNCO
stuart.culver@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture

Lindsey DragerLindsey Drager

Assistant Professor
3623 LNCO
lindsey.drager@utah.edu

 
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Creative Writing - Prose 
  • Rhetoric of the Body
  • Gender and Sexuality Studies
  • Science Fiction
  • Eco and Climate Fiction

Craig DworkinCraig Dworkin

Professor / Higson Chair
3613 LNCO
craig.dworkin@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century Avant-Gardes
  • Poetry and Poetics
  • Media Theory

Andy FrantaAndrew Franta

Professor
3621 LNCO
a.franta@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Eighteenth-Century British Literature
  • Romantic Literature

Disa GamberaDisa Gambera

Associate Professor (Lecturer)
3524 LNCO
d.gambera@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Medieval Literature
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth-Century British Literature
  • Children’s & Young Adult Literature
  • Czech Literature

Chris JonesChris Jones

ESRR Professor of English
3421 LNCO
chris.s.jones@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Old English Literature
  • Medievalism
  • The Reception of the Middle Ages
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth-Century American Literature

Lepa MarinkovskiLepa Marinkovski

Assistant Professor (Lecturer)
3426 LNCO
lepa.espinoza@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • English Teaching
  • Children’s & Young Adult Literature

Mark MathesonMark Matheson

Professor (Lecturer)
3513 LNCO
mark.matheson@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Early Modern British Literature
  • Shakespeare

Michael MejiaMichael Mejia

Associate Professor
3611 LNCO
michael.mejia@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Creative Writing – Prose

Jacqueline OsherowJacqueline Osherow

Distinguished Professor
3401 LNCO
j.osherow@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Creative Writing – Poetry
  • Bible as Literature

Vincent PecoraVincent Pecora

Professor 
3415 LNCO 
v.pecora@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth-Century British Literature
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth-Century British Literature
  • Aestheticism and Decadence
  • Literary Theory and Criticism

Richard PreissRichard Preiss

Associate Professor
3521 LNCO
richard.preiss@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Early Modern British Literature
  • History of the Book
  • Shakespeare

Paisley RekdalPaisley Rekdal

Distinguished Professor / Director, America West Center
3403 LNCO
paisley.rekdal@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Poetry
  • Nonfiction
  • Asian American Literature
  • Global/Transnational Literature
  • Environmental Humanities

Hollis RobbinsHollis Robbins

Professor / Dean of the College of Humanities
2100 LNCO
hollis.robbins@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • 19th-century American literature
  • 20th-century American literature
  • African American Literature
  • History of Poetry

David RohDavid Roh

Professor / Chair
3519 LNCO
david.roh@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Digital Humanities
  • Asian-American Studies

Jeremy RosenJeremy Rosen

Associate Professor

3615 LNCO

jeremy.rosen@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Contemporary Literature

Crystal RuddsCrystal Rudds

Assistant Professor

3416 LNCO

crystal.rudds@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • African American Literature
  • Black Feminism(s)
  • Cultural Studies
  • American Literature

Alf SeegertAlf Seegert

Professor, Lecturer
3412 LNCO
alf.seegert@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Video Game Narrative
  • Film, New Media, and Virtuality
  • Fantasy
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century British and American Literature & Culture
 

Alf SeegertRone Shavers

Associate Professor
3619 LNCO
rone.shavers@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Creative Writing – Prose
  • Afrofuturism
  • Postmodernism and Experimental Literature 

Andrew ShephardAndrew Shephard

Assistant Professor
3424 LNCO
Andrew.Shephard@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • African American Studies
  • Genre Fiction Studies
  • Digital Humanities
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Poetics
  • Religious Studies
  • Jewish Studies

Angela SmithAngela Smith

Associate Professor
3625 LNCO
ang.smith@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Film and Media Studies
  • Disability Studies
  • Gender and Sexuality Studies
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture

Katherine StocktonKathryn Stockton

Distinguished Professor
3515 LNCO
kathryn.stockton@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth--Century British Literature
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Queer Studies
  • Theory

Jessica StraleyJessica Straley

Associate Professor
3425 LNCO
Jessica.straley@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth--Century British Literature
  • Children’s & Young Adult Literature
  • Science and Literature
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Digital Humanities

Sam TettSam Tett

Post-Doc

3416 LNCO

sam.tett@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth-Century British Literature
  • Queer Studies
  • Cultural Studies

Nathan WainsteinNathan Wainstein

Assistant Professor
3526 LNCO
nathan.wainstein@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Video Game Narrative
  • Theory
  • Narrative Theory and History
  • Modernism

Spencer Wall

Spencer Wall

Assistant Professor, Lecturer
3428 LNCO
spencer.wall@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Medieval Literature
  • Early Modern Literature
  • Shakespeare
  • Milton

 

Last Updated: 6/6/24