Skip to content

Main Navigation

English Department Faculty Directory

   
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Chicano/a Studies
  • Global/Transnational Literature

Jenny AndrusJennifer Andrus

Associate Professor
j.andrus@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Writing and Rhetoric Studies
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • History of the Novel and Prose Fiction
  • Eighteenth-Century British Literature
  • Global/Transnational Literature
  • Fantasy

Allan BorstAllan Borst

Assistant Professor (Lecturer)
3516 LNCO
allan.borst@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature
  • Medical/Health Humanities
  • Life Writing

Elizabeth CallawayElizabeth Callaway

Assistant Professor
3526 LNCO
elizabeth.callaway@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Environmental Humanities
  • Digital Humanities and Media Studies
  • Science and Literature

Vincent ChengVincent Cheng

Shirley Sutton Thomas Professor of English / Distiguished Professor
3525 LNCO
801-581-7438
vincent.cheng@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth-Century Literature
  • Postcolonial Studies
  • James Joyce
  • Irish Studies

Katharine Coles

Distinguished Professor
3417 LNCO
801-581-7868
k.coles@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Creative Writing
  • Poetry and Poetics
  • Science & Literature

Stuart CulverStuart Culver

Associate Professor / Dean, College of Humanities
2100a LNCO
801-581-8243
stuart.culver@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture

Lindsey DragerLindsey Drager

Assistant Professor
3524 LNCO
lindsey.drager@utah.edu

 
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Creative Writing - Prose 
  • Rhetoric of the Body
  • Gender and Sexuality Studies
  • Science Fiction
  • Eco and Climate Fiction
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century Avant-Gardes
  • Poetry and Poetics
  • Media Theory

Lepa EspinozaLepa Espinoza

Assistant Professor (Lecturer)
3426 LNCO
801-581-6168
lepa.espinoza@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • English Teaching
  • Children’s & Young Adult Literature
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Eighteenth-Century British Literature
  • Romantic Literature

Disa GamberaDisa Gambera

Associate Professor (Lecturer)
3612 LNCO
801-581-6039
d.gambera@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Medieval Literature

Carol GuarnieriCarol Guarnieri

Post-Doctoral Fellow
3528 LNCO
carol.guarnieri@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Black Atlantic Studies
  • Eighteenth-Century British Literature
  • Early American Literature
  • Early Caribbean Literature
  • History and Theory of the Novel
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth-Century American Literature
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth-Century British Literature
  • Children’s & Young Adult Literature
  • Czech Literature

Jay JordanJay Jordan

Associate Professor
3624 LNCO
801-585-0980
Jay.Jordan@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Writing and Rhetoric Studies
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth-Century American Literature

Mark MathesonMark Matheson

Professor (Lecturer)
3513 LNCO
801-581-3677
mark.matheson@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Early Modern British Literature
  • Shakespeare

Aislinn McDougallAislinn McDougall

Visiting Assistant Professor
3407 LNCO
801-581-6168
aislinn.mcdougall@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • American Literature
  • Canadian Literature
  • Digital Humanities
  • Post-postmodernism
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Creative Writing – Prose

Lance OlsenLance Olsen

Professor
3419 LNCO
lance.olsen@utah.edu

 
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Creative Writing – Prose
  • Experimental Narrative Theory & practice
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • History of Narrative
  • Hybrid Forms
  • Hypermedial Literature

Jacqueline OsherowJacqueline Osherow

Distinguished Professor
3401 LNCO
801-581-7947
j.osherow@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Creative Writing – Poetry
  • Bible as Literature

Vincent PecoraVincent Pecora

Gordon B. Hinckley Professor of British Literature and Culture 
3415 LNCO 
801-585-9419 
v.pecora@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth-Century British Literature
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth-Century British Literature
  • Aestheticism and Decadence
  • Literary Theory and Criticism
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Early Modern British Literature
  • History of the Book
  • Shakespeare
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Poetry
  • Nonfiction
  • Asian American Literature
  • Global/Transnational Literature
  • Environmental Humanities

David RohDavid Roh

Associate Professor
3407 LNCO
801-581-6168
david.roh@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Digital Humanities
  • Asian-American Studies

Jeremy RosenJeremy Rosen

Associate Professor
3615 LNCO
jeremy.rosen@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Contemporary Literature

Crystal RuddsCrystal Rudds

Assistant Professor
3416 LNCO
crystal.rudds@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Race and Ethnicity
  • African American Literature
  • Black Feminism(s)
  • Cultural Studies
  • American Literature

Alf SeegertAlf Seegert

Associate Professor (Lecturer)
3412 LNCO
alf.seegert@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Video Games and Storytelling
  • Virtuality and Media Studies
  • Theory
  • Fantasy
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century British and American Literature & Culture

Andrew ShephardAndrew Shephard

Assistant Professor
3424 LNCO
Andrew.Shephard@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • African American Studies
  • Genre Fiction Studies
  • Digital Humanities

Maeera ShreiberMaeera Shreiber

Associate Professor
3423 LNCO
m.shreiber@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Poetics
  • Religious Studies
  • Jewish Studies

Angela SmithAngela Smith

Associate Professor
3625 LNCO
801-581-7992
ang.smith@utah.edu

RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Film and Media Studies
  • Disability Studies
  • Gender and Sexuality Studies
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Medieval Literature
  • Film
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth--Century British Literature
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Queer Studies
  • Theory
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Nineteenth--Century British Literature
  • Children’s & Young Adult Literature
  • Science and Literature
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Digital Humanities
RESEARCH AND TEACHING INTERESTS:
  • Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century American Literature & Culture
  • Environmental Humanities

 

Last Updated: 9/23/20