You are here:

English Faculty

Lourdes Alberto
Associate Professor
2008 PhD Rice University
2001 BA UC Riverside
Office: 3405 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-8367
lourdes.alberto@utah.edu

Scott Black
Professor
1999 PhD Johns Hopkins University
1988 BA McGill University
Office: 3519 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-3393
scott.black@utah.edu

Vincent Cheng
Shirley Sutton Thomas Professor of English
Office: 3525 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7438
vincent.cheng@utah.edu

Katharine Coles
Professor
1990 PhD University of Utah
1983 MA University of Houston
1981 BA University of Washington
Office: 3417 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7868
k.coles@utah.edu

Stuart Culver
Associate Professor
Office: 2100a LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-8243
stuart.culver@utah.edu

Craig Dworkin
Professor
Office: 3613 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-3022
cralg.dworkin@utah.edu

Andrew Franta
Associate Professor
1999 PhD Johns Hopkins University
Office: 3621 LNCO
Office Phone:  (801) 581-7850
a.franta@utah.edu

Lepa Espinoza
Assistant Professor (Lecturer)
Office: 3426 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-6168
lepa.espinoza@utah.edu

Disa Gambera
Associate Professor (Lecturer)
1995 Ph.D. Cornell University
1982 B.A. UC Berkeley
Office: 3612 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-6039
d.gambera@utah.edu

Howard Horwitz
Professor
Office: 3619 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7353
h.horwltz@utah.edu

Anne Jamison
Associate Professor
2001 PhD Princeton University
1991 MA University of London
Office: 3411 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7984
anne.jamison@utah.edu

Jay Jordan
Associate Professor
2006 PhD Penn State
2002 MA Penn State
Office: 3708 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 585-0980
Jay.Jordan@utah.edu

Dennis Kezar
Associate Professor
1997 PhD University of Virginia
1993 MA University of Virginia
1990 BA Sewanee
Office: 3623 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 585-3953
dennis.kezar@utah.edu

Diana Leong
Assistant Professor

2016 PhD University of California
2009 MA University of Hawai’I 
BA 2004 Willamette University
BA 2004 Willamette University
Office: 3524 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-9178
Email: diana.leong@utah.edu

Kya Mangrum
Assistant Professor

PhD 2014 University of Michigan
MA 2010 University of Michigan
BA 2001 University of California
Office: LNCO 3416
Office Phone:  (801) 585-9289
Email: kya.mangrum@utah.edu

Stacey Margolis
Professor
1997 Ph.D. University of Chicago
Office: 3523 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7610
s.margolis@utah.edu

Mark Matheson
Professor (Lecturer)
Office: 3513 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-3677
mark.matheson@utah.edu

Michael Mejia
Assistant Professor
2000 University of Alabama 
1992 University of Southern California 
Office: 3611 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-5687
mlchael.meJia@utah.edu

Jeff Metcalf
Professor (Lecturer)
Office: 3428 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-5052
jeff.metcalf@utah.edu

Lance Olsen
Professor
1985 Ph.D. University of Virginia
1982 M.A. University of Virginia
1980 M.F.A. Iowa Writers' Workshop
1978 B.A. University of Wisconsin
Office: 3419 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-3199
lance.olsen@utah.edu

Jacqueline Osherow
Distinguished Professor
1990 PhD Princeton
1978 AB Magda cum Laude Harvard-Radcliffe
Office: 3401 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7947
j.osherow@utah.edu

Vincent Pecora
Gordon B. Hinckley Professor of British Literature and Culture
1983 Ph.D. Columbia University 
1975 B.A. Brown University 
Office: 3415 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 585-9419
v.pecora@utah.edu

Matthew Potolsky
Professor
1997 Ph.D. University of California, Irvine
1992 M.A. University of California, Irvine
Office: 3617 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-5245
m.potolsky@utah.edu

Richard Preiss
Associate Professor
2005 Ph.D. Stanford University
2000 M.A. Stanford University
1997 Hon. B.A. University College, University of Toronto
Office: 3521 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7087
richard.preiss@utah.edu

Paisley Rekdal
Professor
1996 MFA University of Michigan
1994 MA University of Toronto, Centre for Medieval Studies
1993 BA, Honors University of Washington
Office: 3403 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7350
paisley.rekdal@utah.edu

David Roh
Associate Professor
Office: 3407 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-6168
david.roh@utah.edu 

Jeremy Rosen
Assistant Professor
Office: 3526 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-6743
jeremy.rosen@utah.edu 

Alf Seegert
Associate Professor (Lecturer)
Office: 3412 LNCO
Office phone: (801) 581-6905
alf.seegert@utah.edu

Maeera Shreiber
Associate Professor
Office: 3423 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7478
m.shrelber@utah.edu

Angela Smith
Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Minnesota
M.A. Massey University, New Zealand
Office: 3625 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7992
angela.m.smlth@utah.edu

Thomas Stillinger
Associate Professor
1988 PhD Cornell University
1978 MFA Goddard College
1974 BA Yale University
Office: 3421 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7132
tom.stillinger@utah.edu

Kathryn Stockton
Distinguished Professor
1989 Ph. D. Brown University
1984 M.A. Brown University
1982 M. Div. Yale University Divinity School (magna cum laude)
Office: 3515 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-5286
kathryn.stockton@utah.edu

Jessica Straley
Associate Professor
PhD Stanford University
MA University of London
Office: 3425 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-3126
jstraley@utah.edu

Elizabeth (Lisa) Swanstrom
Associate Professor
PhD 2008 University of California
MPW 1998 University of Southern California
BA 1996 New College of Florida
Office: LNCO 3424
Lisa.Swanstrom@utah.edu

Stephen Tatum
Professor
Ph.D University of Utah
Office: 3413 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-4035
stephen.tatum@utah.edu

Melanie Thon
Professor
1982 M.A. Boston University
1980 B.A. University of Michigan
Office: 3615 LNCO
Office Phone: (801) 581-7651
melanie.thon@utah.edu

 

Last Updated: 9/12/17